Finding where God wants you to be

(Backdate: 6/17/14 10:38 PM)

Over the last several days I’ve felt almost a separation with communicating with the Lord. I really enjoy being able to talk with Him on a regular basis but lately it’s felt distant. I know that He hears my prayers and thoughts, and knows what’s on my mind and heart, but there hasn’t been much communication as far as seeking answers I had desperately wanted answered. Those mostly being, where am I supposed to be? What am I supposed to be doing? How can I serve You in my life?

In my slight desperation I started looking at one ministry or another, teachings and writings from others about what they’re working on and what it is they feel is important, what God is working with in their lives.

I think somewhere in my mind I was hoping to find my answers. That upon looking up different things here and there that God would suddenly say, “That one! That’s what I want you to do/get involved in!” Boy was I wrong.

The only things I have found, through further investigation (because that’s what I do) of some of the teachings out there is that most of them are false or focused on the wrong things. Some might not be false in some cases but their focus is solely on one aspect and they disregard what else the Bible teaches us.

There are others that are so far off that I instantly thought of what the Bible says on false prophets.

Through all of this confusion, that has been clouding my mind and making me feel uneasy and unable to rest, I continued to read my Bible and continued to pray. I begged and pleaded to hear some kind of answer about all of what was going on. I got that answer in the form of a question today; God asked me, “Why are you looking to follow men?”

That alone opened my eyes. It’s amazing to see how easily distracted we can become and how frustrating and exasperating it can be to search where we think we need to be all on our own.

Why was I searching to learn from men? Why was I searching for such a group or ministry to teach me, to learn from, when I have God and His Word? That’s not to say that being involved in them is a bad thing, but if God isn’t speaking to you about something specifically in that regard, maybe you’re not actually ready for it yet.

There are a lot of things going on in the world that can easily cause you to feel that it’s time to panic. That you have to be where you ought to be right now in order to do God’s work. That you’re running out of time. That you need to do what they say and become what they’re teaching to be on the right path.

The question you have to ask yourself is if God is telling you to hurry or if it’s your own fearful, human nature coming into place.

Ultimately it’s up to US to make sure we’re on track with God. Not our brothers and sisters, not our parents, not pastors, teachers, preachers, prophets, ministers, friends, and loved ones. It’s our choice to follow the Lord, to seek what He has in store for us, and to learn from Him and His Word. It’s through that relationship, reading the Bible and really talking to God, that we will learn where it is we need to be.

Who’s to say I’m not where I’m supposed to be right now?

I thank God for the clarity that I had today on this matter and the reminder that I need to seek Him and not try to look for it on my own. I now know why I didn’t feel I was hearing the Lord when I tried to talk with Him the last few days, which is that I was losing sight on what He has already told me (and while being distracted it can be difficult to listen). He’s told me to wait and be open to Him, to listen and He will show me where it is that He wants me to be, and that is what I intend to do (or try my hardest to not get sucked into anything else).

How can I expect to find where He wants me to be if I’m not including Him in on the search?

Do you know how to search for where God wants you to be? The answers are a lot more simple than you might think, though most go-getter’s and control freaks wont like it (I should know).

To find where you need to be, you need to truly search for the Lord in your personal life. Not where a church says you need to be, through doctrines and teachings telling you how to live, or any other form written by men that can’t be held credible. We have all we need, as far as doctrine, in the Word of God. The Bible isn’t continually growing from more people claiming to “know the true way,” adding their own words on how we should live; God already provided us with a complete book letting us know how things should be.

Search for Him yourself. Talk to Him about it. Ask where He wants you to be and what He wants you to do. It’s not up to anyone else to say otherwise. And always remember to listen. There are many different factors that can cause you to not hear what He’s telling you. Make sure you get those out of the way, even if it means He has to humble you again, so you can really hear Him.

Leave a Reply

