Witness Lee Clarification

I think it should be clarified on the thoughts and conclusions I have come to concerning Living Stream Ministry and the teachings of Witness Lee. Awhile back I made a post about some of the research I did on the matter as I was attending one of the churches brought up by LSM. The Lord allowed me to see the truth behind what was being taught and I quickly realized I needed to get out of there.

What I wanted to clarify goes more along the lines with the spiritual gifts. Now, Paul wrote to the Corinthians concerning the spiritual gifts and he pretty much laid it all out there. If you’re going to use them, which you should, use them in the right manner. God chooses who He gives each gift to and some gifts work differently for each person. For Example: if I have the gift of discernment and feel a strange spiritual presence in one area while another person, with the same gift, is able to see or hear a spirit, then it can very well be confirmed there’s something going on. There are different variations with how the gifts work for each person and each person is given their own gift. (There’s a lot of debate about people having multiple gifts or only receiving one. I can’t really testify to that myself as I only know of the one for me right now and I’m not willing to assume any others for myself without a revealing from God.)

Think of it as a puzzle that when all the pieces come together they will reveal what God has to tell us about something. If I have one piece, you have another, and three more people each have one piece, then we need to put them together to see the full picture. We need to work together. This is what Paul was trying to stress to the Corinthians, that the gifts are to be used to edify the church and bring more people to know Christ.

Does that mean that God wont speak to you strongly while you’re spending time with Him alone? No. But if He gives you a prophesy it should be shared with those you trust in order for you all to figure out the true meaning of it. One thing people tend to lose sight of is that God speaks in different ways and while you might get one interpretation, the many other interpretations might actually come together to mean something else. That there might be different meaning to what God was telling you than you first realized.

This is what I felt that Witness Lee did. I feel that he had one piece of the puzzle and with not testing it he took it as a sign that he was a new prophet for God. That HE had the correct way for all of us and we need to obey HIM. It’s kind of sad to see how someone can study so much of the Bible and miss so many important points. I believe that after all this was happening and Witness Lee was writing of the things he felt were true revelations from God, he started allowing that to build his own ego, not staying humble (as we are also told to do as servants to the Lord). I’ve even heard he went as far as calling himself the “Oracle.”

I guess the important thing to remember when you go to speak to others about what you feel God is telling you is to ask who it’s going to glorify. Remember share these things humbly and test everything before you have a full conclusion.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not despise prophecies. Test all things; hold fast what is good. Abstain from every form of evil.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-22

Leave a Reply

