A Skeptical Christian

Why is it, that when it comes to questioning things that are said to be “Christian” I am constantly blown off and almost scolded by my questions? When I bring something up that questions the very nature of someone’s thought process on something “Christian” I am treated as if I am just trying to be negative.
Well let’s be real for a moment and actually admit that not everything we see or read that says it has God and Jesus’ best interest in mind is actually honest. Are we not told to test the spirits?

1 John 4:1-3
Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world. Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God: And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world.

Yet constantly, whenever someone questions the intentions behind someone’s “spiritual” writings or testimonies, when concerning Christ, we are treated as if we need to “stop being so negative.” As if we’re just out to cause problems, to disrupt, and to offend. I don’t even know what we’d be disrupting. Their false  truth?
Either way, it can really wear on a person, like myself, who is constantly looking into the backgrounds of those in the world that are “teaching” others about the “truth.” If I’m going to take the time to sit and listen to someone spread some “news” and “truth” about a subject then I am going to do the research and pray about these matters to see if I agree with what they’re teaching. I’m going to question it.
Not everyone out there that claims to be a Christian is a Christian. Not everyone that teaches or writes “Christian” books are actually writing to help further Christ’s ministry.
Christians have become so content with accepting everything “Christian” around them as the God-given truth when in reality we need to be taking the truth (The Bible) and comparing what they’re saying. Christians have become so docile in thinking that if it says it’s Christian, or comes from a “Christian owned establishment” then it MUST be something that Christ would want us to read, watch, or listen to. In reality, we need to be asking ourselves IF Christ would want us to even mess with most of the things that are out there. Do people honestly not realize that even people who claim to be Christians will still do almost anything just to make a buck?
When did Christianity become so passive in the aspect of “needing to accept everyone” and basically shunning those who speak about coming away from them?
God speaks constantly in the Bible to come away from the world. Christ taught that we are not of this world, and although we have to live in it for now, we are not to actually live in it as others do.

Now as far as people just taking the word of something claiming it’s Christian, I have been guilty of that in the past. I myself have disregarded testing things to see if they truly are Christ-like. I have also learned my lesson in believing most things that claim one thing while teach another. It’s very easy to be fooled by those teaching falsely about Christ and it is very, very important that we test what we hear, see, and read. We weren’t warned about this as a joke. We weren’t told to “test most of the spirits, but anything saying they’re for Christ is okay.”
What we need to realize, and this is the truth, is that the more we are allowing ourselves to live in the world and be a part of what the world does (either through music, TV, movies, mainstream social medias, etc etc) the more we are becoming a part of the world. We are becoming what Christ told us to stay away from. He calls us to Him, to come OUT from the world and be separate. I honestly can’t tell the difference between most modern-day Christians and those with the values of paganism.

Christ says,
Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves. Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit. A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire. Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them. Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.
(Mat 7:15-23)

That applies for believers as well. Are you bringing forth good fruit? Are you hiding your light under a bushel so the world cannot see it? Does that mean I think everyone needs to run out the door and preach? I wish they would, but even at this time God calls us all in different ways and not all of them will be to do such things.

When the Son of man shall come in his glory, and all the holy angels with him, then shall he sit upon the throne of his glory: And before him shall be gathered all nations: and he shall separate them one from another, as a shepherd divideth his sheep from the goats: And he shall set the sheep on his right hand, but the goats on the left. Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me. Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not. Then shall they also answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee? Then shall he answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me. And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.
(Mat 25:31-46)

Tell me where it says that those who accept Christ and then go back into the world to live the way they want will have eternal life? Yes, if we accept Christ we are His, but does it say that that’s all we need to do? It says the righteous will have life eternal (Mat 25:46). Do you really know Christ? Does He really know you? Ask yourself these things and see where you land.

I know I’ve gotten off on some crazy tangents in this post, but these are subjects of things that have been frustrating me for some time. I am incredibly thankful that God has granted me to see (what little I’ve seen compared to how bad it really is) the corrupt in this world, the corruption in most churches, the corruption in the modern-day Christianity. People are teaching falsely and watered down scriptures to everyone to the extent that they are still encouraged to go and be a part of the world; to partake in what the world does. And they tell them that it’s okay because it might lead more to Christ! In reality, it dulls down our senses and causes us to think that it’s okay to live the way the world does. How are others supposed to see the difference Christ brings in our lives if we live the same way that they do?
Wake up, people! It’s time to move forward and be real with ourselves! Christ is King and all of us will be judged. Think about the way we’re all living now and tell me if you honestly believe that it’s how it’s supposed to be. If that’s how the disciples, and even Christ, tried to teach us to live.
Do you believe that if Jesus walked through your door right now He would choose you to go speak to the world about His ministry? Are we even worthy? No, we will never be worthy on our own accord. We are worthy only through the blood of Christ, and I for one want to stand up and tell you that I am not of this world and I am a skeptical Christian.

One thought on “A Skeptical Christian

  1. Pingback: False Prophets, False Witnesses, & the Christian World | unicorncoat

Leave a Reply

