Keeps coming back up

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.  (Ephesians 3:20-21)

I wrote a post awhile back speaking about the way that we minister and witness to others. It has been coming up in my mind on and off over the last couple of days and I’m really not sure why. I kept thinking that I had written about it in a way that I need to go back and correct myself but upon reading it just now I realize that I wasn’t really saying what I thought I was (in the last couple of days).
I thought I had written something along the lines of the way a lot of churches teach in the “you witness to others by living by example” which I do agree with, but that is not actually how you witness to others.
Let’s actually look at the definition of the word

wit•ness (wĭtˈnĭs)
n.    One who can give a firsthand account of something seen, heard, or experienced: a witness to the accident.
n.    One who furnishes evidence.
n.    Something that serves as evidence; a sign.

Now after reading that, can you say that keeping quiet about your personal relationship with the Lord and just “living by example” we are being a true witness? Are we giving out testimony and speaking about the wonders God is doing in everyone’s lives? In our own lives? Speaking about His Son and the miracles that are still going on even unto this day?
Although it’s good to be able to live by example I’d say that most of us are not actually witnessing.
Since that is being taught in a lot of churches (I heard it a lot in the youth group I went to growing up) I want to point out the way that Christians (who are living their lives “by example”) look like to a secular world; they look snotty and prude. They do not look like people who see the world, understand it, live in it, know how to even react to it. They look like they’re living in their own little bubble and anything that comes their way from “the world” they turn their nose up to and back up slowly. It’s almost as if they’re germaphobes and the world is the grime.
Now, granted, the world is pretty bad. It’s grimy and gritty; fully of sin. BUT we are called to live in the world to help those who are stuck in it NOT to live in a bubble; in the safety of our church. I’m not saying that all churches just expect everyone to always stay within and never help anyone else but from first-hand experience I can tell you that some of the ones I’ve been in (and grown up in) seem keep from encouraging others to do what we’re told to be doing in the Bible. I see a lot of people that wouldn’t know what to do without a pastor/preacher telling them what to do. People are lazy and they don’t want to have to think for themselves. If they have someone that will tell them what to do, think, say, or feel then they’re gong to get overly protective of that person and really who is there to tell us those things other than God? I’m not saying that all pastors or preachers are corrupt either, my uncle is a pastor, I’m saying that people need to wake up and learn to think for themselves. To ask what God would want THEM to do, as an individual. Pastors are very busy people, do you really think they they have you specifically in mind when they speak about what to do in life? Could it not be that they have to speak their messages to fit a mass amount of people? If we’re not seeking it for ourselves then we will never find it. No one is going to do our work for us.

I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil. They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth. As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world. And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth. Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word; That they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me. (John 17:15-21)

Christ asked for us to not be taken out of the world but kept away from evil. To not be removed but to be left as a witness for His Glory and Love. Are we doing that by spending our time in church and never working towards His ministry? Are we able to share the love of Christ with others by avoiding the non-believers because they are “of the world?”
People say the world can be a scary place. I say that it’s never venturing into it that’s the scary part.
I’m not saying we should all go to parks and try to talk to everyone about Christ, because it doesn’t always work that way. I’m saying we need to be more in tune with being open to doing things and going places that are in the world. We can’t hide ourselves up in little holes hoping that we’re doing it right just by reading and praying everyday; that’s not what we’re called for.
We’re called to be a witness

wit•ness (wĭtˈnĭs)
n.    One who can give a firsthand account of something seen, heard, or experienced: a witness to the accident.
n.    One who furnishes evidence.
n.    Something that serves as evidence; a sign.

Leave a Reply

