Crochet: Great Uncle J

On a happier note than my previous post, I thought I would share the crochet project that I finally got around to finished, and it is only by the grace of God that I was able to make it in the first place.
I guess I’ll start with the background story first. I have a great-uncle (my dad’s uncle) who goes by “J” (not Jay, J for Jack. It took me years to realize this). For some reason I have always had some sort of fondness for him with his hillbilly looks and his skill of making dulcimers. Recently, Uncle J’s wife passed away and while we were down there for the funeral I was able to get one of his handmade dulcimers for myself. I had always wanted one and now I’m thankful that I have one.
My dad mentioned to him that I crochet and could make him a scarf or hat if he was interested. I had already, for quite some time, wanted to make dolls of certain people and decided I would make a doll of Uncle J to give to him.
Here is the finished doll:

DSC_0144-horzDSC_0151b-horz
There are pipe cleaners in his hands, arms, legs, and feet so that they are able to bend slightly. I plan on attempting to also make a dulcimer to sit in his lap as if he is playing. I’m glad that the project finally came together even though I took a break from it for a little while and had a difficult time getting back into it.

Update: Here’s what my great uncle looks like:
52c8e3d4a8ca2.image

6 thoughts on “Crochet: Great Uncle J

    • I haven’t made the dulcimer. My dad and I had the idea to make him a little one that would open, which he could put his picks in. It hasn’t been finished yet though.
      I’ve crocheted some dogs before, I can show you pictures of them if you like. I enjoy making stuffed animals and dolls the most (haven’t had the patience for a blanket yet).
      I’ve always wanted to get into repurposing old clothes and have wanted to make a quilt, but I haven’t busted out my sewing machine to get the hang of it yet. Plus I don’t have a ton of extra fabric materials around to use (even repurposed stuff). Maybe someday though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

