Faith and Healing

And a certain woman, which had an issue of blood twelve years, And had suffered many things of many physicians, and had spent all that she had, and was nothing bettered, but rather grew worse, When she had heard of Jesus, came in the press behind, and touched his garment. For she said, If I may touch but his clothes, I shall be whole. And straightway the fountain of her blood was dried up; and she felt in her body that she was healed of that plague. And Jesus, immediately knowing in himself that virtue had gone out of him, turned him about in the press, and said, Who touched my clothes? And his disciples said unto him, Thou seest the multitude thronging thee, and sayest thou, Who touched me? And he looked round about to see her that had done this thing. But the woman fearing and trembling, knowing what was done in her, came and fell down before him, and told him all the truth. And he said unto her, Daughter, thy faith hath made thee whole; go in peace, and be whole of thy plague. – Mark 5:25-34

That part of scripture came to mind today as I am reminded of how many issues we all seem to have. Though the woman had a blood issue that she sought after so many physicians for most of her life until she had nothing left. How many of us have issues that we constantly seek others for help? That we exhaust all of our resources until we are finally faced with having to give it up to God, though it is what we should have done in the first place? That we depend on the help of the words of man rather than the Words of God?
I know that I still have a lot of problems from my past, a lot of them probably affect my behaviors and the way that I think today. I am excited over the healing process I am going through, though it has been difficult and is not always a constant motion (or feels that way).
It seems through my healing process (which is for more than just one thing), that while I’m expecting that it will be one thing revealed that needs to be fixed or changed after another, that there is quite a bit of time in between. Though I might feel one arising that will need to be revealed over time, there are days or weeks between since I had the last thing come up. Maybe it’s an adjustment period to get used to that part that has been healed.

It is so easy to go through life working on one thing after another, or asking for forgiveness for so many things at once that we might still feel burdened by some of them. What I mean is that if you’re asking forgiveness for issues A-Z, somewhere along the lines issue G, B, and C might still be lingering in your head and you will feel you were never forgiven for them and will need to continue to repent.
When allowing Christ to work on deeper things within your being, to allow Him to come in and remove and repair, we need to realize that it will not be over night. It will take time, just like it took time for them to be developed in the first place. It does not mean we can say one quick little prayer and our lives (our behaviors) will suddenly be changed completely. We will still struggle until we allow Him to help us overcome them and to heal us. I am not saying that Christ cannot change our lives instantly, I’m saying that through our sinful nature it will take time to adjust and learn to stay away from the things that continue to harm us.
What needs to be realized is the need for healing. The need to ask Him to come and break us down and heal and rebuild us so we can be closer to Him and in the process more efficient for His needs.

I will be having another thing revealed to me over time in an area I need to work on. I do not know what it will be that will come up and at times there is a slight worry over what it will be. Some of my past has been kind of obvious that something needed to be fixed, but like always the unknown is what will frighten us.
For now I almost feel that there are things around me coming to light that need to be focused on in the meantime. Granted not all areas are things that I can directly work on myself and they will take patience and a lot of prayer, all the while holding on fast to faith.
Faith is something that is easily interrupted in my life and something that I hope to cling to more and more as I grow. It’s a struggle for me to cling to hope and faith that situations will improve and that what God wants out of me (or situations around me) will come true. I know that overall His Will will come to pass, but lately I have a difficult time clinging to the faith that His will for my life wont be interrupted to the point of them being destroyed or given to someone else.
I desperately long to be an effective worker for His purposes and my greatest fear is failing Him. Through many experiences in my life I have been left with the fear of abandonment and that extends even to my heavenly Father at times.

Through my own realizations and pain I was not willing to post this. I didn’t want to share this which lead me to believe that reasoning or feeling is all the more reason to post and share this. This verse comes to mind:
Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much. – James 5:16

I do realize that God loves me and that He has a purpose for me. It’s so easy to get caught up in everything that surrounds us that we will feel like we are drowning, which causes me to think of this:
And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus. But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me. And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?
– Matthew 14:29-31
Through it all we must realize that all we need is to ask Christ to help us. That we need to keep our faith in Him and not doubt. We must keep going, moving, and growing. His love will get us through and we will be healed and able to push through to His future plans for our lives.
And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28

And the LORD, he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, neither forsake thee: fear not, neither be dismayed. – Deuteronomy 31:8

There shall not any man be able to stand before thee all the days of thy life: as I was with Moses, [so] I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee. – Joshua 1:5

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. – 2 Timothy 1:7
Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he [it is] that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee. – Deuteronomy 31:6

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7

Cast thy burden upon the LORD, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved. – Psalms 55:22

Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need. – Hebrews 4:16 

Cast thy burden upon the LORD, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved. – Psalms 55:22

Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need. – Hebrews 4:16

One thought on “Faith and Healing

Leave a Reply

