What Side is Your World On?

There have been a lot of topics on my mind recently that I would like to write of though I’m not sure of their timing and will need to pray about them more. One topic that has been on my mind for quite some time is involving around Westcott and Hort and the many different Bible translations we seem to have today. For those who aren’t familiar with Westcott and Hort, they are credited for having found older scrolls than what was used to translate the King James Bible we have today. I disagree with most that think that the older the better in this case, especially considering where their transcripts were found or stored for so many years. There is also the fact that neither men were true believers and it is documented through their own letters to each other during their translations. Many who take their versions as just “easy to read” and in my mind that discredits God’s ability to help us understand His ways.

Another topic I have felt strongly about writing on has to do with the rapture. Though I was raised to believe in it (even read some of the Left Behind series) I do not believe in it anymore. God put a burden on my heart about it and after seeking His guidance, the theology surrounding it feels completely wrong for ways that I will not explain right now. I also believe there are dangers in not only believing in it but also teaching it to others, but I will not get into that now.

I’ve had a difficult time knowing where to start on these topics and have mostly just been doing my own research about them. I love to research and find what others believe compared to what the Bible teaches us, to see how most other religions all connect with each other in ways they are not even aware of (Buddhist, Hindu, Jewish, etc). I also research sects of “Christian” groups, churches, or organizations and see how they compare with the Bible as well. I recently did some research on a Mar Thoma (“Indian-Christian”) church as I know someone who attends periodically. I found a lot of Hindu/Buddhist influences that are still involved in this church and are seen merely as Indian traditions. I found, in my research, that most of their “traditions” are still paying homage to other gods from other religions and I do not believe most are aware of this and the importance of not continuing with such “traditions.”

It’s very important to be aware of what is going on around us in other groups, especially now when false prophets and leaders are pushing to have “oneness with each other.” After that statement you might ask, “Well, what’s the big deal with that? Shouldn’t we get along? Wouldn’t the world be a better place?”

Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.  (35)  For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.  (36)  And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household.  (37)  He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.  (38)  And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.  (39)  He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it. – Matthew 10:34-39

Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves.  (16)  Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles?  (17)  Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit.  (18)  A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit.  (19)  Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire.  (20)  Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them. – Matthew 7:15-20

Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world. – 1 John 4:1

We are here to find God. More and more I am realizing how much our generations and the generations before us have slacked off from a real relationship with God. I’m not claiming that everyone is lacking, but a lot of them are. I’ve lived it myself, I know how it feels to want more. To attend a church and go to Bible studies every week only to find yourself still thirsting, still wanting more, still.. empty. But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. (John 4:14)
Why are so many people today still thirsting if we are truly being taught what Christ came here to teach us? Why are so many still lost? So many living the church life, having the word of God, and seeing it, and God Himself, as a joke? Because of watered down teachings. Why are so many falling away or buying in the false teachings, just to have acceptance and temporary joy? So many are filled with repetitive songs that have lost their meaning, with repetitive study plans that don’t break open what God is speaking about TODAY. Oh yes, they want to mold us into good little Christians, but the world was not turned upside down by factory made soldiers!

But the Jews which believed not, moved with envy, took unto them certain lewd fellows of the baser sort, and gathered a company, and set all the city on an uproar, and assaulted the house of Jason, and sought to bring them out to the people. And when they found them not, they drew Jason and certain brethren unto the rulers of the city, crying, These that have turned the world upside down are come hither also; Whom Jason hath received: and these all do contrary to the decrees of Caesar, saying that there is another king, one Jesus. – Acts 17:5-7

I want to be one of those. Through the blood of Christ and His true way, I want to be one that turns the world upside down from what it believes today. How many see it happening in their cities? How many see the impact? How many miracles of healing the sick, healing the blind, healing the crippled, and casting out demons do you see in your church that are true and real? How many reach out to the homeless, the fatherless, and the widows? I for one, don’t see it today.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. – John 3:16

He gave his only begotten Son for our sakes.. We can never fully repay him for that.. but what are you going to do to try?

Leave a Reply

