In the Land of Crochet

I haven’t been writing much lately and I know I haven’t felt inspired to other than sharing scripture I come across. I have been crocheting quite a bit lately however. Brandon recently commissioned me to make a doll for his mom’s roommate to try at sell at the nursing home they’re at. I made a little blonde doll with curls (seen below) and later made a darker skinned doll that I named after a friend of mine. I plan on mailing it to her as soon as I’m able to.
I don’t know what to call these dolls and I’ve already had some people telling me I need to come up with a name for them, as in a brand name. For now I might call them “Expression Dolls” until I come up with something later.
A quick back story on that: When I was younger I had some dolls that always had smiles on them but I hated it because my dolls weren’t always happy and smiling in my head. They became hard to relate to and pretend with so I usually stuck to stuffed animals. I make my dolls without mouths so that whoever owns them can make up the expression for themselves.

Here are two dolls I’ve made recently:
expression dolls2

expression dolls1I’m currently working on another one similar to the blonde that someone wants to buy off of me. I’m incredibly grateful the Lord has dropped this in my lap for some extra cash and I hope to upload some photos of more complete projects soon!

Leave a Reply

