Doll Order Complete

I was recently asked to make a doll (one was ordered at least) for a 9-month-old little girl. I did this one in the same style as the previous ones I posted but crocheted the head onto the body without sewing to help stabilize it for a baby. I will admit it was nice not having to sew the head on but at the same time it did take away from the roundness of the head in my opinion. Maybe I will continue this after some tweaking to the pattern or maybe I’ll go back to sewing the heads on (ugh).
Here’s doll number 3, in the colors that were requested:
DSC_0872b2 copy2Maybe I’ll get some better photos of it later. The sun isn’t in a good place for it yet and I have no decent lighting in my house.

10 thoughts on “Doll Order Complete

    • Thanks! I appreciate any feedback! What else do you make besides dolls? Do you crochet or do something else? I’ve made a few stuffed animals and random thinks people have requested but none of those are posted on here.
      (I’ve seen some of your comments there)

      Like

  1. I’m no good at crocheting. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I sooo wish I was, as there are some lovely crocheted toys to make!

    https://www.thetoftalpacashop.co.uk/PD.aspx?product=PATTERNS/toys/-Edwards_Menagerie_Book_by_Kerry_Lord

    I carve wooden figures, make cloth Waldorf dolls, and needle felted animals; I get bored doing 1 thing over and over again, lol, so I like to have different projects on the go at once.
    Your dolls are lovely, they have such a nice kind and peaceful ‘energy’ to them!
    You are bang on about the facial expression. I felt the same about my childhood toys & dolls. (I had a red vehicle once, that I loved, because though the paint was chipped and one door missing, it could be *anything* – a bus, a truck, a post office vehicle…)
    Years later, I read the Christian seer Rudolf Steiner saying: ‘We sin against a child’s soul when we give it a “pretty” realistic doll, with a fixed smile. The imagination gets no chance to work. Just make a doll with very simple features, dots for eyes.’ I knew exactly what he was talking about!

    I sell at craft fairs, but I get a steady trickle of requests; if you make someone a toy for their child, I find that what happens is that their friends see it and say, ‘Oh, where did you get that? I’d like one!’, and it goes on from there, I get people I’ve never met emailing me. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am sure you could have a business selling your crocheted dolls; I can picture how great they’d look on a table at a craft fair, if you had say 10 or 15 together, all with different hair + ‘clothes’, people would think ‘Wow!’ I notice at craft fairs, people really seem to like it if there are a bunch of the same kind of doll, but one in red, one blue, a blonde, an ethnic doll, etc. They love choosing which exact one they want. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Barbara

    Like

    • Oh I would love to make wooden toys! I’ve seen a lot of cute felted and fabric dolls too. Those on the link you sent are cute! Sometimes I seem to look up different styles too much to the point that later I can’t seem to decide on what to make myself. I’m currently somewhat starting a doll just for fun (or for myself) but right now I only have a foot and part of a leg lol. I have a vague idea of what I might like it to look like but haven’t worked out the details on shape and sizes for the body and head yet. I at least picked out the colors.
      I’d love to see some of what you’ve made sometime! I haven’t thought too much on doing a craft fair, I have a hard time deciding on what to make and get bored doing the same ones over and over. Of course I also like to try to be reasonable for prices if I sell them which means I might do less detail (but I love the details if it’s for fun). Right now I’ve got some people in a nursing home interested in the dolls I’ve posted photos of but I’m not sure how well they would sell there, especially to those on a fixed income, but I try to work around stuff like that.

      Like

  2. I know what you mean – I try to keep my prices very low too, I want to be a reasonable alternative to plastic toys, and not make chi-chi items for rich customers.
    I’d love to show you some pics, but I can only email them – using a phone, it won’t let me use flickr or photobucket to post stuff. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

Leave a Reply

