Discernment, or ‘How does the Lord speak to you?’

How DOES the Lord speak to you? Is it audible? In small whispers? Visually? Through dreams? Smells? Feelings?

I’m sure I’ve mentioned on and off how I felt that as soon as I was starting to hear from the Lord suddenly felt the communication was cut. And it was to one extent, but not to others.
At the time I didn’t fully understand how the Lord wanted to speak to me, I only knew that I was angry and slightly bitter that He spoke to others more audibly and clearly and I felt that I was constantly left in the dark.

I was and I wasn’t in the dark.
I was in the dark in some ways because he needed me to grow in him more and walk with him more on the path he has chosen for me. Being in the dark was more due to my lack of understanding of that at the time. On the other hand, I wasn’t in the dark because he was still with me and I just had to learn how he wants me to hear from him, which takes time and patience, something I lack far too often.
I’ve known for a while that the Lord has given me the gift of discernment, especially when it comes to feeling, perceiving, seeing (in mind or in spirit, I’m not sure), and even smelling demons or their presence. For some reason it took me months to make the connection that I DISCERN when I hear from the Lord! Oh my folly and my foolishness. If anyone knows how to make me feel like a bonehead, it’s me. It took someone else actually telling me “that’s discernment” when I was talking about how the Lord speaks to me for me to get it.

Now I do not believe the Lord will only communicate to someone in ONE particular way, He’s too awesome and His ways are too vast for that. I’ve had dreams and I’ve had visions. I’ve seen the flash of angels leaving (they’re very bright and VERY fast. Unfortunately I didn’t have a good look at them, though I still want to see them more clearly). I’ve felt the Lord above me and beside me. I’ve felt God’s right hand, which was actually very frightening and full of indescribable power. I’ve felt the presence of angels being close and guarding areas I’ve prayed for. He speaks through scripture. He’s speaks through songs and through memories.
God speaks to all of us in many different ways when we are seeking Him. If you unsure how God speaks to you just keep seeking him. Dig into the Word (the Bible), spend some quality time talking to Him with as little distraction as possible, stop doubting yourself and push through. I’ve been there. You have to keep fighting for it and open yourself up to Him. The more you push the more He will see that you’re serious and willing, not easy to give up. And when you fall (which is not a question of IF you will fall because we all do) remember He is still there ready and willing to pick you up.

I was just reminded of this scripture, it’s of the disciples on the boat in the sea when Jesus was walking on water to meet them.
But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.  (How often are we afraid when the Lord shows us something we’re not used to!)
And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water. And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus. (that takes faith!)
But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me. (Here comes the doubt.)
And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

That verse always gets me, “And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him,”
How often are we called by the Lord and we turn and look around us and fear creeps in to cause us to sink? Yet He is always faithful and true. He’s always right there to catch you if you slip and if you fall. I’ve always heard this growing up but until you start to go through it (and sometimes it can take more time than you might expect) you can’t fully appreciate it and understanding it. I would say a great question to ask when you find yourself with a lack of faith and doubting is, Why? Not WHAT are you doubting, but why? Regardless of knowing the answer or not, take it to Jesus. He will help you with it.

I thank the Lord for his lessons and his grace, with which we are saved. I hope and pray that maybe others can learn from the experiences (and mistakes) that I share and that they know that they are not alone with what they go through and what they may feel.
For those who do not yet know how the Lord speaks to them, remember that it takes time and you have to learn how to listen. Listening takes patience and time with the Lord. Don’t give up, especially after you fall, and keep up the good fight.

-Me

Leave a Reply

