What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light

What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops.
Matthew 10:27 KJV

I used to read this verse and it always made me think of the Bible. It made me think of spreading the Word of God and witnessing to others, possibly in the streets or wherever they might listen.
It wasn’t until tonight when I heard someone read it aloud that I realized that goes for what the Lord tells us personally as well. His Word is true. What He speaks never goes against His own Word.
I probably haven’t been doing enough speaking lately.

I keep rereading this verse and wondering about the spiritual significance of “What I tell you in darkness, speak ye in light”
What are your thoughts?

What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops.
Matthew 10:27 KJV

4 thoughts on “What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light

  1. Hi Unicorncoat,

    Interesting piece of scripture!

    When I read that, I believe that Jesus is telling me that when He tells or reveals a truth about satan and his ways to me, (darkness,) I am to reveal it to others so they will not be taken advantage of unknowingly.

    I’m not sure if this example is what you are looking for, or if you’re looking for something deeper…

    Blessings to you, dear one,
    C. Dunamis

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just came across another person’s blog page where they show three videos about the bible. The third video (and the last one on the page,) uses this piece of scripture at the 8:48 minute mark…
      Thought you might be interested…

      Like

      • Thank you for the comments and insight, Dunamis. That’s actually where I heard him reading that scripture, from that same video from the same blog. Funny how we all seem to find the same posts and people from time to time.
        I had to pause the video when I heard it and look up the scripture to read myself as it was almost like bells going off in my head. Well not actual bells, it just kept sticking out. You know what I mean.
        In response to your other comment about the interpretation of the verse, that makes a lot of sense. I’m not completely sure if that’s what the Lord was pointing out to me or if there is more, but that does make a lot of sense to me. I’ll have to ask, wait, and see I suppose.

        Like

Leave a Reply

