Learning how to NOT pray and ignoring spirits

For awhile the Lord worked with me on how to pray his will for others. There were times I would be drawn to go sit in a grocery store parking lot and things would come to mind (or spirit) on what to pray for each person I saw.
Looking back now, I was (and am still in part) insecure in this area as it also came and went very quickly.
There were some I would see and feel to pray for them physically but most were for spiritual things of the heart, to be open to the Lord, to seek Him, and/or emotional and spiritual healing.
And there were others I would see and suddenly go blank. I would get the sense of “do not bother with them.” But in my own compassion (not His) I still tried. It was forced and disobedient of His Will. I had to repent of this.

It seems a lot has changed since then. I used to feel the presence of evil spirits coming from certain people in their cars and pray for them. Now I have been led more to NOT pray for them. Things go blank when I experience this.
I see many people while out doing errands or driving around and am never led in prayer for them. At least not many, and not many I can recall recently.

Things have changed indeed. I know I’m not the only one who has witnessed this or experienced it. The Lord has confirmed it in many ways and through many people.

Jeremiah 11:9 And the LORD said unto me, A conspiracy is found among the men of Judah, and among the inhabitants of Jerusalem. 
11:10 They are turned back to the iniquities of their forefathers, which refused to hear my words; and they went after other gods to serve them: the house of Israel and the house of Judah have broken my covenant which I made with their fathers. 
11:11 Therefore thus saith the LORD, Behold, I will bring evil upon them, which they shall not be able to escape; and though they shall cry unto me, I will not hearken unto them.
11:14 Therefore pray not thou for this people, neither lift up a cry or prayer for them: for I will not hear them in the time that they cry unto me for their trouble.

Learning not to pray is difficult. I still doubt and try sometimes but I know if I’m feeling conflicted it’s not of the Lord. It’s of my own mind.

As for feeling the presence of spirits while on the road driving, I still feel that at times. I felt that a few days ago while on my way home. So much so that I asked the Lord to take the feeling away if it would hinder my driving (it messes with my sight sometimes), or if there was nothing for me to learn of it (manner of spirit or something of that nature). It didn’t go away, which it sometimes will if I’m asking for that specifically (if there’s nothing for me to learn). I still don’t know what it was I was feeling or the purpose of it. At least not yet.
I do realize that there will be times of picking up on something spiritual without there being anything to do about it – much like gathering information or really, it’s just how things are.

I’m often reminded of the girl who followed Paul and company around that had a spirit and was yelling about the Word of God they brought with them. It says she followed them many days and eventually Paul was grieved by this. I always read that as them most likely ignoring her, or the spirit in her, until Paul was annoyed or grieved to the point that he cast the demon out. The Lord didn’t command them to go and cast it out. They didn’t cast it out immediately. Yet it was still God’s will and He used it as an example. I know for a truth that demons want nothing more than us to be distracted from the Lord’s will, even if by their very presence.

So, I am learning that in the cases of feeling spirits to either try to learn from the experience or ignore what is around instead of trying to pray for the people who have (usually) unknowingly allowed them into their lives. By trying to learn from the experience I realize it needs to be God’s will. And if praying for them is outside of God’s will I must be obedient. If it is in His will He will lead me in this.

God will reveal more as time goes on.

One thought on “Learning how to NOT pray and ignoring spirits

  1. Pingback: Own Private Words to bring into a good relationship | Stepping Toes

Leave a Reply

