I Am the Bread of Life

Tonight has not been as heavy as the last few days and I am thankful for that. I have struggled with what I thought were the strivings of possibly offending a fellow brother in Christ. It had been a burden upon me and the Lord finally led me to reach out to this brother to apologize. Upon getting a (rather quick) response I came to the realization that the Lord led me to that “not all strivings are true but have developed in my mind.” There are many such occasions I have felt similar things with people in my past. That I have wronged them and just their memories alone bring up much grief and guilt. What was pointed out to me tonight is that a lot of these things are just in my head and then translated to my heart. It’s so easy to accept false accusations against yourself but I am thankful that the Lord is so gracious in showing the truth and light of situations we can’t seem to let go of. He is indeed very gracious.
I had thought I had done something horrible that could have possibly upset or hurt someone else. I wonder now how many of these “memories” are false. Ones I have carried around as burdens for most of my life. The Lord knows, and I know they will be revealed over time. Just as He has shown me tonight that my truth, that which I hold on to, is not always THE Truth.

Reading a friend’s blog brings echoes of similarities of my past compared to them. They seem so similar in wounds, though I could never admit or say that my past is worse than anyone elses. We all have a past to move on from. We all have wounds to be healed. We all need Christ to help us, and He is so merciful and gracious and powerful. Only He can do it.

I felt I wanted to spend time with the Lord tonight in His Word. Really wanting comfort or affection from him I decided to open my Bible, finding another sticker tab I hadn’t opened to in a while. I really only wanted to read what he said (physically recorded in the bible) so I started, not looking to what book I opened to, and only went over the red lettered parts. I wanted to share those here (Jacqui this is also for you).

Then Jesus said unto them,
Verily, verily, I say unto you,
Moses gave you not that bread from heaven;
but my Father giveth you the true bread from heaven.  

For the bread of God is he which cometh down from heaven,
and giveth life unto the world.

Then said they unto him, Lord, evermore give us this bread.
And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life:
he that cometh to me shall never hunger;
and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.  

But I said unto you, That ye also have seen me, and believe not.  
All that the Father giveth me shall come to me;
and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out.  

For I came down from heaven,
not to do mine own will,
but the will of him that sent me.  

And this is the Father’s will which hath sent me,
that of all which he hath given me I should lose nothing,
but should raise it up again at the last day.  

And this is the will of him that sent me,
that every one which seeth the Son,
and believeth on him, may have everlasting life:
and I will raise him up at the last day.

The Jews then murmured at him, because he said,
I am the bread which came down from heaven.  

Jesus therefore answered and said unto them, Murmur not among yourselves.

No man can come to me,
except the Father which hath sent me draw him:
and I will raise him up at the last day.  

It is written in the prophets,
And they shall be all taught of God.
Every man therefore that hath heard,
and hath learned of the Father, cometh unto me.  

Not that any man hath seen the Father,
save he which is of God, he hath seen the Father.  

Verily, verily, I say unto you,
He that believeth on me hath everlasting life.  


I am that bread of life.


Your fathers did eat manna in the wilderness, and are dead.  

This is the bread which cometh down from heaven,
that a man may eat thereof, and not die.  

I am the living bread which came down from heaven:
if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever:
and the bread that I will give is my flesh,
which I will give for the life of the world. 

Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you,
Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man,
and drink his blood, ye have no life in you.

Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life;
and I will raise him up at the last day.  

For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed.  
He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood,
dwelleth in me,
and I in him.  

As the living Father hath sent me, and I live by the Father:
so he that eateth me, even he shall live by me.  

This is that bread which came down from heaven:
not as your fathers did eat manna, and are dead:
he that eateth of this bread shall live for ever.

John 6:32-41, 43-58

Leave a Reply

